There's a reason I'm not a poet

Kid on the new block

Haven’t blogged here in a while as I haven’t had much access to the internet. Why? BECAUSE I’M IN A NICE NEW APARTMENT, THAT’S WHY. (And it doesn’t have internet yet shhh)

I’m living with the two school friends I’d been living with last year, and I was getting a bit worried we wouldn’t find anywhere if I’m honest, as our lease expired at the end of August and we still hadn’t found anywhere to live. I moved back home and thankfully we managed to find somewhere new- an apartment in South Belfast, allowing me to live out my dream of being a twenty-something living in an apartment. I just need a chick and duck and my transformation into a character from Friends will be complete.

I hadn’t actually seen the place before I moved in, so was trusting in my friend’s taste that it was a nice place, and decided to just go for it cause we were having trouble with people pipping us to the post. And it turns out she has great taste- the new digs are awesome. Much bigger than I was expecting, and with brilliant perks like a balcony, kitchen island and two showers in my en suite bathroom. Hell to the yeah. The rent’s obviously a fair bit more expensive than the previous house, but in comparison with places in England it’s still pretty great value.

It’s a bit further out than my last place which is one of the downsides. Previously I’d been able to walk to my hospital in about fifteen minutes, and when I move to my next hospital it would have been less than ten minutes. Sadly that’s not really possible so I’ve gotten myself a bike (and called it Nox), and am now cycling into work and back. Pedalling back uphill at midnight is less than fun, but that’s life.

I’m halfway through my time in A&E and am obviously still a bit crap at my job, but I’m getting slowly less incompetent which is nice. I think it’s likely not for me as a career in the end. While it’s fun and exciting, I’m not sure that the type of medicine practised is really for me: there’s more of a focus on making a general decision on where a patient needs to go, rather than the diagnostic work-up in medicine, with the feedback of getting a proper answer and most importantly being able to see the outcome of your hard graft. In the ED you do see results, but usually only on quick cases, not the ones you have to think hard about and work on. So I’ll probably be going down the route of core medicine training in the end. Reassuring to know.

That’s all for now folks, I’m off to get things ready for having a few people over to the new place tonight. It’s the GBBO final and we’re having our own Bake Off! Expect my next post to be a food blog.

M

Leave a Reply

