There's a reason I'm not a poet

And on the ninth day..

I’ve just finished an eight day stretch playing the role of the “surgeon of the week”- which basically means going round all the patients that have been admitted under the ’emergency’ team, ie all the people who have come through the doors and haven’t been labelled to be under a specific team like urology, ENT or vascular surgery.

And it was a very busy week. I think the take was busier than it normally is, because the wards were all pretty full and the ward rounds were going on a good hour-and-a-half longer than they normally would. Which meant at times it was pretty stressful, and I was having to work pretty hard the whole time. There were also a few patients that got pretty sick in quite dramatic ways.

That all being said, I actually really enjoyed it. I felt like I was properly doing the job I signed up to do, and I think I was doing a good job at it too. I tried my best to be organised, walking around with my clipboard and lists of patients and rapidly burning through the ink in my pen. At times your efforts are in vain, but that’s life, and that’s the NHS. The sick patients got better, and part of that was down to me being the one working out correctly what was wrong with them- which was a pretty good feeling.

Sadly there were a few days that were just incredibly busy, staying several hours later than I would have liked, being late for social events and missing my Chinese lesson, but again that comes with the territory so I’ve gotta just man up and get on with my life.

Man was I ready for this weekend though. Getting up shortly after six and not getting to sleep until 11 or 12 for over a week really takes it out of you. My plan had been to get stuff done today but I’ve spent most of my time stuffing my face and watching Game of Thrones. AND IT’S BEEN GLORIOUS

I’ll have another post coming up soon I think. Til then: tatty-bye

M

Leave a Reply

