There's a reason I'm not a poet

That’s all folks

Written on 23rd June, 18:14

How to round up six years? Finals are over, and I feel like now that I’m coming to the end I need to be churning out deep poignant sayings that could end up written over stock photos as inspirational posters, or saying super-emotional goodbyes to people. Buuuut that doesn’t seem to be happening so maybe I just won’t.

Nevertheless, these six years have been pretty momentous as a period in my life. It’s a hefty chunk, and arguably as you’ve flown the nest and are trying a lot of new things, it’s the most formative period. Your brain finishes developing around this time, and you become the person that you’re going to roughly be for the rest of your life. Don’t worry yourself though- I’m not going to waste the valuable space on the internet with armchair-philosophical ruminations on the man I’ve become, as much as you’d love to read about it I’m sure.

I spent the weekend in London attempting to see as many people as possible before I leave England and I actually managed to do a decent job of it- I managed to see a fair number of people, and to spend a decent amount of time with each of them- the worry is that you have to dash off after about five minutes of spending time with people that you used to hang out with for whole days. Of course, there was food involved (rooftop terrace burgers, homemade pancakes fancy dim sum, Selfridge’s ice cream and sourdough pizza) and I managed to squeeze in a few nice views of London’s skyline and even a trip to the old Olympic park. The people I’ve met here have really been fantastic, and I’m grateful to them all for helping me enjoy myself so much over these few years.

This week involves several Last Suppers, LASER QUEST, packing away my life and throwing away some of my endless clutter and then (hopefully) officially becoming a doctorrrrrr. Before graduating and fecking off out of this place. I have a graduation ball on Friday which I’m really looking forward to and then the fam are coming over at the weekend to celebrate! I can see it becoming a bit of a blur. Which thankfully the past six years have managed not to be- I’ve enjoyed myself to such a huge amount, and as much as dead-inside-Michael can manage, I’ll miss England.

M

Leave a Reply

